James Holden: Where I’ve gotten to with my writing resolutions

At the beginning of the year I set myself some goals so that I had something clear to aim for as a writer – you can find a post about it here. I have found them useful as they’ve kept me writing and also helped to push me in terms of making sure that I carve out the time for writing and channelling my energies.

As we are now half way through the year I thought it would be useful to take stock on how well I’ve done so far.

Goal One: Enter six stories for competitions or publication

So far this year I have managed to enter three stories for competition or publication. I entered one story in the Bristol Short Story Prize, one story for the July Liars’ League (the theme is Sons and Daughters) and one for Silver Apples Magazine Modern Mythologies issue.

I was thrilled in April to hear that my story Sweet Dreams had been accepted for publication and even more delighted when I saw the final design – it was beautifully produced and I’m really pleased that I put it forward. If you would like to, you can purchase the magazine here.

I have yet to hear back from Liars’ League or Bristol – but fingers crossed. I also think that I have found the three other places that I’m going to enter stories during the rest of the year, although I reserve the right to change my mind along the way.

Goal Two: Publish twelve pieces of flash fiction on this blog

I’ve managed to publish eight pieces of flash fiction on the blog so far so I’m more than halfway with this one. The most popular were Sitting, Waiting and The Marionette, which was written as a result of a writing challenge with Becs Evans of Write Track. (If you run a blog, a little cross-promotion can go a long way.) I was quite fond of The Assessment, but my favourite piece of flash fiction is House Hunting. I don’t often write stories with twists, but a great one occurred to me for this piece. Maybe it was because I worked backwards from a prompt rather than using the prompt as the starting point for a story.

Goal Three: Do a reading in public again

I have made no progress on this yet – but the Asylum are currently working on a second volume of stories for publication, so I’m sure if we have a launch again it will give me the opportunity I’m looking for. Mind you, Write Idea are also inviting  shortlisted authors to read their stories (an extract – surely – as the word limit is 4,000!) when they announce the winner…

 

Time to get cracking with the next six months…

About James Holden

Brought up in Yorkshire, James has washed up on the shores of London. He spends his days working as a political geek. His short stories have previously been read by the Liars League.
This entry was posted in Bits and Pieces, James Holden and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

