James Holden: My New Year’s Resolutions

Last year I decided I was going to have a New Year’s Resolution for my writing. My ambition was modest – to enter four competitions, a goal I picked for two reasons. Firstly, I thought that it would help spur me on to write more, which it did. Secondly, because many competitions are based around a specific theme, I thought it would help me find inspiration (it has to a limited extent). Over the course if 2013 I exceeded ny goal, and am still waiting for feedback from a couple of my submissions.

For 2014 I have decided to be more ambitious. So, I’m going to set myself three Resolutions for the year and I’m sure I’ll report back in December how it’s all going.

1. Enter six stories for competitions or publication
On the face of it, this seems a little daunting as it’s like one every other month. But I reckon it’s achievable on the basis that I can continue to tinker with some stories I have stored away. However, I don’t actually have that many filed away waiting for use (the Asylum’s Anthology does take a lot of high proportion of the stories I’ve been working on over the year) so this will mean writing a substantial number of new stories, so will need some careful planning and lots of discipline. But, as with last year, looking for competitions will give me a goal and give me inspiration.

2. Publish twelve pieces of flash fiction on this blog
I’ve managed 11 on the blog this year, so let’s go one better and say 12. I do enjoy writing and tinkering with them, and I also think they’re good as part of the overall discipline of finding the time to write but also thinking about suitable material. I find trying to write helps me think about potential stories, even if I don’t go on to use them at a later date.

3. Do a reading in public again
Last year I read a story for the launch of the Asylum’s anthology in public, and I came through it alive. I found it a really useful experience in terms of thinking of how my stories fit together, and about the rhythm and editing of stories. I’m not going to go one better than last year, but I’m still going to try and read one of my stories in public, even if it is only at the launch of our second collection of short stories. (You can read more about what happened at the event here)

Fingers crossed the Resolutions should motivate and help my writing over the course of the year!

About James Holden

Brought up in Yorkshire, James has washed up on the shores of London. He spends his days working as a political geek. His short stories have previously been read by the Liars League.
This entry was posted in Bits and Pieces, James Holden and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to James Holden: My New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Pingback: James Holden: My writing resolutions for 2015 | Clerkenwell Writers Asylum

Leave a Reply

